Skip to content
BEAD stateProposal approved

South Dakota BEAD market

Updated

South Dakota has $207,227,523.90 in program allocation, $72,843,059.93 in reported awards, and not reported in reported executed subawards. These measures describe different funding stages and must not be added together.

Allocation
$207.2M ($207,227,523.90)
Awarded
$72.8M ($72,843,059.93)
Locations planned
7,060
Project records
4

Record quality

Sources cited
6
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Also in South Dakota

Proposed, approved, under construction or expanding, in the latest snapshot.

Key facts

STATE State program noticesKW Kapwork tracker recordsNTIA NTIA federal reportingSUB Executed subaward records

Program allocation
$207,227,523.90Program allocation · NTIA federal reportingBEAD program allocation (June 2023)As of Jun 26, 2023Reporting period: 2023-06-26
Reported awarded funding
$72,843,059.93Reported awarded funding · NTIA federal reportingNTIA reported awardsAs of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: state:SDReporting period: 2026-09-05
Reported executed subawards
Not reportedReported executed subawards · Executed subaward recordsReported executed subawardsAs of Sep 18, 2026Reporting period: 2026-09-18
Project records across tracker sources
4Project records across tracker sources · Kapwork tracker recordsTracker project records across sourcesAs of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: state:SDReporting period: 2026-09-05
Locations planned
7,060Locations planned · NTIA federal reportingNTIA planned service locationsAs of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: state:SDReporting period: 2026-09-05
State-program milestone
Proposal approvedState-program milestone · State program noticesSouth Dakota program milestoneAs of Aug 7, 2026 · Record: state:SD

Project records

Project records
RecordSummary
South Dakota broadband project CM61-BEAD-SD-100South Dakota broadband project CM61-BEAD-SD-100 (CM61-BEAD-SD-100) is a broadband project record in South Dakota. Recorded technology: Fiber. Reported award: $12,873,778.00. Linked award holder: Midcontinent Communications.
South Dakota broadband project CM61-BEAD-SD-200South Dakota broadband project CM61-BEAD-SD-200 (CM61-BEAD-SD-200) is a broadband project record in South Dakota. Recorded technology: Fiber, Licensed Fixed Wireless. Reported award: $54,507,556.93. Linked award holder: BHT Investment Holdings LLC.
South Dakota broadband project CM61-BEAD-SD-300South Dakota broadband project CM61-BEAD-SD-300 (CM61-BEAD-SD-300) is a broadband project record in South Dakota. Recorded technology: Fiber. Reported award: $3,838,725.00. Linked award holder: Hanson Communications, Inc..
South Dakota broadband project CM61-BEAD-SD-400South Dakota broadband project CM61-BEAD-SD-400 (CM61-BEAD-SD-400) is a broadband project record in South Dakota. Recorded technology: LEO Satellite. Reported award: $1,623,000.00. A named award holder is not reported.

Project-stage evidence distribution

Project-stage evidence distribution
StageProject records
Not independently evidenced4

Companies linked to project records

Companies linked to project records
RecordSummary
BHT Investment Holdings LLCBHT Investment Holdings LLC is listed as Award holder in the tracker. The snapshot links it to 3 project records and reports $157,132,010.93 in attributed BEAD awards. Each figure describes the cited award record.
Hanson Communications, Inc.Hanson Communications, Inc. is listed as Award holder in the tracker. The snapshot links it to 2 project records and reports $9,358,513.00 in attributed BEAD awards. Each figure describes the cited award record.
Midcontinent CommunicationsMidcontinent Communications is listed as Award holder in the tracker. The snapshot links it to 17 project records and reports $88,083,070.00 in attributed BEAD awards. Each figure describes the cited award record.

Sources, method and limits

Show 6 sourcesHide

Sources and evidence

  1. STATE
    South Dakota program milestoneAs of: Aug 7, 2026 · Record: state:SD
  2. KW
    Tracker project records across sourcesAs of: Sep 5, 2026 · Record: state:SD
  3. NTIA
  4. NTIA
    NTIA reported awardsAs of: Sep 5, 2026 · Record: state:SD
  5. NTIA
    NTIA planned service locationsAs of: Sep 5, 2026 · Record: state:SD
  6. SUB
    Reported executed subawardsAs of: Sep 18, 2026

Limitations and interpretation

  • An award is a research signal. The award holder decides its own bids and subcontracts. Confirm project status and vendor needs with them.
  • Public company profiles exclude unresolved identities; source funding totals may include awards associated with companies still under identity review.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “South Dakota BEAD market”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/bead/states/south-dakota, materially updated Sep 20, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

An award is not an open solicitation, revenue, cash received, or guaranteed contractor demand. A planned date alone does not establish construction or completion. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

Related records

Kapwork Grow

Every BEAD award in the directory, in one place.

Search by trade, company or place.

Browse the directory