Skip to content
Data center buildApproved2 datasets report

Springdale Data Center (former Cheswick Generating Station)

Allegheny DC Property Co., LLCSpringdale, Allegheny County, PAUpdated

Allegheny DC Property Co., LLC has approval for a 180 MW data center in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania (approved). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.

Capacity
180 MW
Site
47 acres

Who's on this build

Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.

  • Operator

    Allegheny DC Property Co., LLC

Timeline

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. Today

    Approved

    Last material change Sep 24, 2026.

  2. 9 mo ago

    Announced

  3. 9 mo ago

    Reported as announced

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

Reported updates without an event date

Record quality

Datasets
2, figures differ
Location
Street address reported
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Site and infrastructure

CA Compute AtlasPA DEP Pennsylvania DEP permit trackerKW Kapwork Grow tracker record

Status

Operator
Allegheny DC Property Co., LLCOperator · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 12, 2026 · Record: allegheny-dc-springdale-cheswick-paOperator · Pennsylvania DEP permit trackerPennsylvania DEP Data Center Permit Tracker record (state government data)As of Dec 8, 2025 · Record: 10000019
Stage
ApprovedStage · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 12, 2026 · Record: allegheny-dc-springdale-cheswick-pa
Facility type
AI data centerFacility type · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 183861798252416

Scale

Reported capacity
180 MWReported capacity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 12, 2026 · Record: allegheny-dc-springdale-cheswick-pa
Site area
47 acresSite area · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 183861798252416

Reported dates

Announced
2025-12-08Announced · Pennsylvania DEP permit trackerPennsylvania DEP Data Center Permit Tracker record (state government data)As of Dec 8, 2025 · Record: 10000019Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.

Site

City
SpringdaleCity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 12, 2026 · Record: allegheny-dc-springdale-cheswick-paCity · Pennsylvania DEP permit trackerPennsylvania DEP Data Center Permit Tracker record (state government data)As of Dec 8, 2025 · Record: 10000019
County
AlleghenyCounty · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 12, 2026 · Record: allegheny-dc-springdale-cheswick-paCounty · Pennsylvania DEP permit trackerPennsylvania DEP Data Center Permit Tracker record (state government data)As of Dec 8, 2025 · Record: 10000019
State
PennsylvaniaState · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 12, 2026 · Record: allegheny-dc-springdale-cheswick-paState · Pennsylvania DEP permit trackerPennsylvania DEP Data Center Permit Tracker record (state government data)As of Dec 8, 2025 · Record: 10000019
Location precision
Street address reportedLocation precision · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 183861798252416
Community response
Local opposition reportedCommunity response · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 183861798252416

Power and cooling

AI workload
Likely AI or machine-learning workloadAI workload · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 12, 2026 · Record: allegheny-dc-springdale-cheswick-pa

Permits and public records

Pennsylvania DEP review
Permit applications under DEP reviewPennsylvania DEP review · Pennsylvania DEP permit trackerPennsylvania DEP Data Center Permit Tracker record (state government data)As of Dec 8, 2025 · Record: 10000019
Pennsylvania DEP permits on file
5Pennsylvania DEP permits on file · Pennsylvania DEP permit trackerPennsylvania DEP Data Center Permit Tracker record (state government data)As of Dec 8, 2025 · Record: 10000019

Sources, method and limits

Show 6 sourcesHide

What each source reports

What each source reports
DatasetReported nameReported statusReported MW
Compute AtlasSpringdale Data Center (former Cheswick Generating Station)Approved180 MW
Pennsylvania DEPSpringdale Data Center (Allegheny DC Property Co. LLC)ProposedNot reported

Sources and evidence

  1. CA
    Compute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 12, 2026 · Record: allegheny-dc-springdale-cheswick-pa
  2. CA
  3. CA
  4. CA
  5. CA
  6. PA DEP
  7. KW

Limitations and interpretation

  • This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
  • Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection, Data Center Permit Tracker (state government data). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
  • An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
  • Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “Springdale Data Center (former Cheswick Generating Station)”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/springdale-data-center-former-cheswick-generating-station-pa-dc_a738a92c2f80, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More builds

Kapwork Grow

Every data center build in the directory, in one place.

Search by company, place or trade.

Browse all builds