Amazon AWS Gilroy Data Center
Amazon Web Services is building a 98 MW data center in Santa Clara County, California (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 98 MW
- Investment
- $2B
- Building area
- 438,500 sq ft
- Site
- 56 acres
- Expected completion
- Dec 2026 (2026-12)
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Amazon Web Services builds
Operator
Amazon Web Services
Utility
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 3 mo
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 6 mo ago
Construction start
- 14 mo ago
Announced
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2026-12.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026-03.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2025-12.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, all agree
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Amazon Web Services
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- Hyperscale
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 98 MW
- Reported investment
- $2B
- Reported building area
- 438,500 sq ft
- Site area
- 56 acres
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2025-07
- Construction start reported
- 2026-03
- Expected completion
- 2026-12
Site
- City
- Gilroy
- County
- Santa Clara
- State
- California
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
- Community response
- Local opposition reported
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Hybrid
- AI workload
- Mixed use, AI among other workloads
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- Infrastructure Support
Sources, method and limits
Show 8 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Amazon AWS Gilroy Data Center | Under construction | 98 MW |
| Server Country | Amazon AWS Gilroy Data Center | Under construction | 98 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 14, 2026 · Record: amazon-gilroy-ca
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CACity of Gilroy (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAGilroy Dispatch (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAAmazon (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAGilroy Dispatch (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CACity of Gilroy (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 14, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0046
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 214900450800714
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Amazon AWS Gilroy Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/amazon-aws-gilroy-data-center-ca-dc_c3736908344a, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.