AWS Wallula Gap Campus
Amazon Web Services has proposed a 300 MW data center in Walla Walla County, Washington (proposed). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 300 MW
- Investment
- $4.8B
- Building area
- 3.4M sq ft (3,400,000 sq ft)
- Site
- 500 acres
- Expected completion
- 2028
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Amazon Web Services builds
Operator
Amazon Web Services
Utility
Columbia Rural Electric Assn, Inc
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 2 yr
Expected completionPlanned
- this year
Construction start
- Today
Proposed
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 23 days ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
- ~2 yr ago
Announced
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2028.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Amazon Web Services
- Tenants
- Amazon Data Services / AWS
- Stage
- Proposed
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 300 MW
- Capacity as the sources range
- 100 to 300 MW
- Reported investment
- $4.8B
- Reported building area
- 3,400,000 sq ft
- Site area
- 500 acres
- Reported jobs
- 320
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2024-10
- Construction start reported
- 2026
- Expected completion
- 2028
Site
- City
- Wallula
- County
- Walla Walla
- State
- Washington
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Columbia Rural Electric Assn, Inc
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Hybrid
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- Infrastructure Support
Sources, method and limits
Show 9 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | AWS Wallula Gap Campus | Proposed | 300 MW |
| Server Country | Port of Walla Walla - Project Forest | Proposed | 100 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 14, 2026 · Record: aws-wallula-gap-walla-walla-wa
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CATri-Cities Area Journal of Business (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 8, 2026
- CAOak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 23, 2026
- CAReport cited by Compute AtlasAs of: Jul 25, 2026
- CANBC Right Now (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Aug 22, 2026
- CAElkhorn Media Group (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 5, 2026
- CAWalla Walla County, Washington (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 14, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0550
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 155256684565693
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “AWS Wallula Gap Campus”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/aws-wallula-gap-campus-wa-dc_8d34838854bd, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.