Google Project Skyway (Pine Island)
Google has approval for a data center in Goodhue County, Minnesota (approved). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Investment
- $700M
- Building area
- 3M sq ft (3,000,000 sq ft)
- Site
- 482 acres
- Expected completion
- 2028
- Reported jobs
- 38
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Google builds
Operator
Google
Utility
Xcel Energy
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 2 yr
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Approved
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 2 mo ago
Construction start
- 7 mo ago
Announced
- 7 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2028.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026-07.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Tenants
- Stage
- Approved
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported investment
- $700M
- Reported building area
- 3,000,000 sq ft
- Site area
- 482 acres
- Reported jobs
- 38
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2026-02-24Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Construction start reported
- 2026-07
- Expected completion
- 2028
Site
- City
- Pine Island
- County
- Goodhue
- State
- Minnesota
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
- Community response
- Local opposition reported
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Xcel Energy
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Air cooled
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- Property tax abatement (Project Skyway business subsidy agreement, 28 years) (City of Pine Island, Minnesota) $36,578,343
Sources, method and limits
Show 9 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Google Project Skyway (Pine Island) | Approved | Not reported |
| Server Country | Pine Island Data Center (Project Skyway) | Proposed | Not reported |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 18, 2026 · Record: google-skyway-pine-island-mn
- CAXcel Energy (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAGoogle (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 18, 2026
- CACity of Pine Island, Minnesota (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 18, 2026
- CAKTTC (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 18, 2026
- CAPost Bulletin (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 18, 2026
- CACity of Pine Island, Minnesota (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 18, 2026
- CAKTTC (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 18, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0262
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 86819370004145
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Google Project Skyway (Pine Island)”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/google-project-skyway-pine-island-mn-dc_4ef635b56eb1, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.