Skip to content
Data center buildUnder construction3 datasets report

HydraVault Chicago

HydraVaultChicago, Cook County, ILUpdated

HydraVault is building a 20 MW data center in Cook County, Illinois (under construction). 3 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.

Capacity
20 MW
Investment
$3 ($2.7)
Building area
76,000 sq ft
Expected completion
May 2027 (2027-05)

Who's on this build

Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.

  • Operator

    HydraVault

Schedule

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. in 8 mo

    Expected completionPlanned

  2. Today

    Under construction

    Last material change Sep 24, 2026.

  3. 11 mo ago

    Announced

  4. 11 mo ago

    Construction start

  5. 11 mo ago

    Reported as announced

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

  6. 11 mo ago

    Construction start reported

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

Reported updates without an event date

Record quality

Datasets
3, figures differ
Location
Site footprint confirmed
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Site and infrastructure

CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryEPA EPA facility registryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record

Status

Operator
HydraVaultOperator · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-ilOperator · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0910Operator · EPA facility registryEPA Facility Registry (ECHO) record (US government, public domain)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 110072245625
Stage
Under constructionStage · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-ilStage · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0910
Facility type
AI data centerFacility type · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 244733505418532

Scale

Reported capacity
20 MWReported capacity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-ilReported capacity · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0910
Reported investment
$2.7Reported investment · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 244733505418532
Reported building area
76,000 sq ftReported building area · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 244733505418532

Reported dates

Announced
2025-10-28Announced · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-ilReported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
Construction start reported
2025-10-28Construction start reported · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-ilReported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
Expected completion
2027-05Expected completion · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0910

Site

City
ChicagoCity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-ilCity · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0910City · EPA facility registryEPA Facility Registry (ECHO) record (US government, public domain)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 110072245625
County
CookCounty · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-ilCounty · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0910County · EPA facility registryEPA Facility Registry (ECHO) record (US government, public domain)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 110072245625
State
IllinoisState · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-ilState · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0910State · EPA facility registryEPA Facility Registry (ECHO) record (US government, public domain)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 110072245625
Location precision
Site footprint confirmedLocation precision · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 244733505418532

Power and cooling

Cooling
Closed loopCooling · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 244733505418532
AI workload
Confirmed AI or machine-learning workloadAI workload · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-il

Permits and public records

EPA air permit
No Classification In ICISEPA air permit · EPA facility registryEPA Facility Registry (ECHO) record (US government, public domain)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 110072245625
EPA compliance status
No Violation IdentifiedEPA compliance status · EPA facility registryEPA Facility Registry (ECHO) record (US government, public domain)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 110072245625
Incentives reported
Illinois Data Center Investment Program (sales/use tax exemption MOU) (Illinois) $16,875,000Incentives reported · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 244733505418532

Sources, method and limits

Show 5 sourcesHide

What each source reports

What each source reports
DatasetReported nameReported statusReported MW
Compute AtlasHydraVault ChicagoUnder construction20 MW
Server CountryHydraVault - Chicago AI Data CenterUnder construction20 MW
EPA ECHOHydravault LLCOperatingNot reported

Sources and evidence

  1. CA
    Compute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Aug 31, 2026 · Record: hydravault-chicago-il
  2. CA
  3. CA
  4. SC
    Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0910
  5. EPA
  6. KW

Limitations and interpretation

  • This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
  • Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0) · US EPA Facility Registry Service via ECHO (public domain). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
  • An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
  • Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “HydraVault Chicago”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/hydravault-chicago-il-dc_de9575a7b524, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More builds

Kapwork Grow

Every data center build in the directory, in one place.

Search by company, place or trade.

Browse all builds