Skip to content
Data center buildProposed2 of 2 datasets agree

Logan Prairie Data Center

Hut 8Latham, Logan County, ILUpdated

Hut 8 has proposed a 500 MW data center in Logan County, Illinois (proposed). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.

Capacity
500 MW
Investment
$5B
Building area
1 sq ft
Reported jobs
200

Who's on this build

Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.

Timeline

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. Today

    Proposed

    Last material change Sep 24, 2026.

  2. 42 days ago

    Reported as announced

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

  3. 8 mo ago

    Announced

  4. 8 mo ago

    Reported as announced

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

Record quality

Datasets
2, all agree
Location
Street address reported
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Site and infrastructure

CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record

Status

Operator
Hut 8Operator · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035
Stage
ProposedStage · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 17, 2026 · Record: hut8-logan-prairie-latham-ilStage · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0687
Facility type
AI data centerFacility type · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035

Scale

Reported capacity
500 MWReported capacity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 17, 2026 · Record: hut8-logan-prairie-latham-ilReported capacity · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0687
Reported investment
$5BReported investment · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035
Reported building area
1 sq ftReported building area · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035
Reported jobs
200Reported jobs · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035

Reported dates

Announced
2026-01-05Announced · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0687Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.

Site

City
LathamCity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 17, 2026 · Record: hut8-logan-prairie-latham-ilCity · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0687
County
LoganCounty · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 17, 2026 · Record: hut8-logan-prairie-latham-ilCounty · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0687
State
IllinoisState · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 17, 2026 · Record: hut8-logan-prairie-latham-ilState · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0687
Location precision
Street address reportedLocation precision · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035

Power and cooling

Utility
Ameren IllinoisUtility · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035
Power source
Grid powerPower source · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035
Cooling
Closed loopCooling · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 143259105274035
AI workload
Likely AI or machine-learning workloadAI workload · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Aug 17, 2026 · Record: hut8-logan-prairie-latham-il

Sources, method and limits

Show 3 sourcesHide

What each source reports

What each source reports
DatasetReported nameReported statusReported MW
Compute AtlasLogan Prairie Data CenterProposed500 MW
Server CountryHut 8 - Logan Prairie Data CenterProposed500 MW

Sources and evidence

  1. CA
    Compute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Aug 17, 2026 · Record: hut8-logan-prairie-latham-il
  2. CA
  3. SC
    Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0687
  4. KW

Limitations and interpretation

  • This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
  • Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
  • An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
  • Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “Logan Prairie Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/logan-prairie-data-center-il-dc_824b1c14a8b3, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More builds

Kapwork Grow

Every data center build in the directory, in one place.

Search by company, place or trade.

Browse all builds