Nebius Birmingham AI Factory (BHM01)
Nebius is building a 300 MW data center in Jefferson County, Alabama (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 300 MW
- Investment
- $4 ($3.59)
- Building area
- 500,000 sq ft
- Site
- 80 acres
- Expected completion
- 2028
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Nebius builds
Operator
Nebius
Utility
Alabama Power
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 2 yr
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 5 mo ago
Construction start
- 5 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
- 6 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
- 12 mo ago
Announced
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2028.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, all agree
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Nebius
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 300 MW
- Reported investment
- $3.59
- Reported building area
- 500,000 sq ft
- Site area
- 80 acres
- Reported jobs
- 100
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2025-09-30Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Construction start reported
- 2026-04-01Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Expected completion
- 2028
Site
- City
- Birmingham
- County
- Jefferson
- State
- Alabama
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
- Community response
- Local opposition reported
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Alabama Power
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Closed loop
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Sources, method and limits
Show 10 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Nebius Birmingham AI Factory (BHM01) | Under construction | 300 MW |
| Server Country | Nebius Birmingham AI Factory | Under construction | 300 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 9, 2026 · Record: nebius-bhm01-birmingham-al
- CANebius Group (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CANorthwise Project (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAYellowhammer News (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 9, 2026
- CABirmingham Watch (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CABaxtel (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAOak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 23, 2026
- CABirminghamWatch (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 9, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0631
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 105626064367326
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Nebius Birmingham AI Factory (BHM01)”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/nebius-birmingham-ai-factory-bhm01-al-dc_6010fc0baede, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.