Skip to content
Data center buildProposed

PNNL AI Data Center

Battelle Memorial Institute (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)Richland, Benton County, WAUpdated

Battelle Memorial Institute (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory) has proposed a 2 MW data center in Benton County, Washington (proposed). One source reports this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.

Capacity
2 MW

Who's on this build

Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.

  • Operator

    Battelle Memorial Institute (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)

Timeline

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. Today

    Proposed

    Last material change Sep 24, 2026.

  2. 5 mo ago

    Reported as announced

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

Record quality

Datasets
1
Location
Street address reported
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Site and infrastructure

CA Compute AtlasKW Kapwork Grow tracker record

Status

Operator
Battelle Memorial Institute (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)Operator · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa
Stage
ProposedStage · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa
Facility type
AI data centerFacility type · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 197835750486608

Scale

Reported capacity
2 MWReported capacity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa

Site

City
RichlandCity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa
County
BentonCounty · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa
State
WashingtonState · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa
Location precision
Street address reportedLocation precision · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 197835750486608

Power and cooling

AI workload
Confirmed AI or machine-learning workloadAI workload · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 5, 2026 · Record: pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa

Sources, method and limits

Show 4 sourcesHide

What each source reports

What each source reports
DatasetReported nameReported statusReported MW
Compute AtlasPNNL AI Data CenterProposed2 MW

Sources and evidence

  1. CA
    Compute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 5, 2026 · Record: pnnl-ai-data-center-richland-wa
  2. CA
  3. CA
  4. CA
  5. KW

Limitations and interpretation

  • This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
  • Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
  • An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
  • Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “PNNL AI Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/pnnl-ai-data-center-wa-dc_b3ee39a1b250, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More builds

Kapwork Grow

Every data center build in the directory, in one place.

Search by company, place or trade.

Browse all builds