University of Alabama High Performance Computing and Data Center
University of Alabama is building a 14.6 MW data center in Tuscaloosa County, Alabama (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 14.6 MW
- Investment
- $96M
- Building area
- 40,000 sq ft
- Expected completion
- Dec 2026 (2026-12)
- IT load
- 14.6 MW
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
Operator
University of Alabama
Utility
Alabama Power
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 3 mo
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- ~2 yr ago
Announced
- ~2 yr ago
Construction start
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2026-12.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2024-11.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2024-11.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Street address reported
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- University of Alabama
- Tenants
- UA students and faculty, Office/Division of Research and Economic Development, strategic partners, industry collaborators, national-security partners, statewide research collaborations
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- Enterprise
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 14.6 MW
- Reported IT load
- 14.6 MW
- Reported investment
- $96M
- Reported building area
- 40,000 sq ft
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2024-11
- Construction start reported
- 2024-11
- Expected completion
- 2026-12
Site
- City
- Tuscaloosa
- County
- Tuscaloosa
- State
- Alabama
- Location precision
- Street address reported
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Alabama Power
- Power source
- Grid power
- AI workload
- Mixed use, AI among other workloads
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- Grant; Other; $90,550,000
Sources, method and limits
Show 5 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | University of Alabama High Performance Computing and Data Center | Under construction | Not reported |
| Server Country | University of Alabama High Performance Computing and Data Center | Under construction | 14.6 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 15, 2026 · Record: university-of-alabama-hpc-tuscaloosa-al
- CAUniversity of Alabama News (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 9, 2026
- CAOpenStreetMap / Nominatim (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 9, 2026
- CAThe University of Alabama (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 15, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0010
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 234632228382544
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “University of Alabama High Performance Computing and Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/university-of-alabama-high-performance-computing-and-data-center-al-dc_d56592a02750, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.