CleanArc VA1
CleanArc Data Centers is building a 900 MW data center in Caroline County, Virginia (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 900 MW
- Investment
- $3B
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other CleanArc Data Centers builds
Operator
CleanArc Data Centers
Utility
Dominion Energy Virginia
Timeline
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 10 mo ago
Announced
- 10 mo ago
Construction start
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2025-11.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2025-11.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 1
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasPE Public Evidence ProjectKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- CleanArc Data Centers
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 900 MW
- Reported investment
- $3B
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2025-11
- Construction start reported
- 2025-11
Site
- City
- Ruther Glen
- County
- Caroline
- State
- Virginia
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Dominion Energy Virginia
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Closed loop
- AI workload
- Likely AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Government records on file
- 1
- Incentives reported
- Caroline County EDA annual grant - 25% of incremental tax revenue for 15 years (40% for 10 years if the first data hall is operational by Sept 30 2027), capped at 10% of taxable investment (Caroline County, VA); Virginia Data Center Retail Sales & Use Tax exemption (eligibility per VEDP; no certified award value) (Commonwealth of Virginia)
Sources, method and limits
Show 7 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | CleanArc VA1 | Under construction | 900 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Jul 30, 2026 · Record: cleanarc-ruther-glen-va
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAVirginia Economic Development Partnership (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 8, 2026
- CAPR Newswire (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 8, 2026
- CAVirginia Department of Environmental Quality (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 29, 2026
- CAPublic Evidence Project (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 30, 2026
- PEPublic Evidence Project: Permit from Virginia Department of Environmental QualityAs of: Aug 6, 2026 · Record: source-cleanarc-ruther-glen-va
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 102319693608906
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Public Evidence Project, U.S. Data Center Public Records Dataset, https://publicevidence.org/data/national-data-center-public-records (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “CleanArc VA1”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/cleanarc-va1-va-dc_5d0f28fdb7ca, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.