Project Matador
Fermi is building a data center in Carson County, Texas (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Site
- 5,769 acres
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Fermi builds
Operator
Fermi
Utility
Xcel Energy (SPS)
Timeline
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- last year
Announced
- last year
Construction start
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2025.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2025.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 1
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasPE Public Evidence ProjectKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Fermi
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Site area
- 5,769 acres
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2025
- Construction start reported
- 2025
Site
- City
- Amarillo
- County
- Carson
- State
- Texas
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
- Community response
- Local opposition reported
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Xcel Energy (SPS)
- Power source
- Mixed sources
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Government records on file
- 1
Sources, method and limits
Show 13 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Project Matador | Under construction | Not reported |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Aug 26, 2026 · Record: fermi-matador-amarillo-tx
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAPR Newswire (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAPR Newswire (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAU.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAANS Nuclear Newswire (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CASierra Club Texas (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAFortune (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAFortune (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAOak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 23, 2026
- CAU.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Aug 26, 2026
- CAU.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Aug 26, 2026
- PEPublic Evidence Project: Permit from U.S. Nuclear Regulatory CommissionAs of: Aug 6, 2026 · Record: source-fermi-matador-amarillo-tx
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 70848482532973
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Public Evidence Project, U.S. Data Center Public Records Dataset, https://publicevidence.org/data/national-data-center-public-records (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Project Matador”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/project-matador-tx-dc_406fb2a25e6d, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.