Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2
Applied Digital is building a 280 MW data center in Cass County, North Dakota (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 280 MW
- Investment
- $3B
- Building area
- 1.81M sq ft (1,814,000 sq ft)
- Site
- 900 acres
- Expected completion
- 2027
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Applied Digital builds
Operator
Applied Digital
Utility
Cass County Electric Cooperative / Minnkota Power Cooperative
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- next year
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 12 mo ago
Construction start
- 13 mo ago
Announced
- 13 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2027.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2025-09.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Applied Digital
- Tenants
- Oracle
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 280 MW
- Capacity as the sources range
- 280 to 300 MW
- Reported IT load
- 200 MW
- Reported investment
- $3B
- Reported building area
- 1,814,000 sq ft
- Site area
- 900 acres
- Reported jobs
- 200
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2025-08-18Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Construction start reported
- 2025-09
- Expected completion
- 2027
Site
- City
- Harwood
- County
- Cass
- State
- North Dakota
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
- Community response
- Local opposition reported
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Cass County Electric Cooperative / Minnkota Power Cooperative
- Power source
- Grid power
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- Sales Tax Exemption
Sources, method and limits
Show 6 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 | Under construction | 280 MW |
| Server Country | Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2 | Under construction | 300 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 10, 2026 · Record: applied-digital-polaris-forge-2-harwood-nd
- CAApplied Digital Corporation (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAMinnkota Power Cooperative (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAInForum (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 10, 2026
- CAValley News Live (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 10, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0381
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 14576097981257
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Applied Digital Polaris Forge 2”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/applied-digital-polaris-forge-2-nd-dc_0d41c3247349, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.