AWS Project Galaxy — Sidney, OH
Amazon Web Services is building a 1500 MW data center in Shelby County, Ohio (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 1500 MW
- Investment
- $3B
- Expected completion
- Dec 2028 (2028-12)
- Reported jobs
- 75
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Amazon Web Services builds
Operator
Amazon Web Services
Utility
AES Ohio (Dayton Power and Light)
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in ~2 yr
Expected completionPlanned
- this year
Construction start
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 5 mo ago
Announced
- 5 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2028-12.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Amazon Web Services
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 1500 MW
- Reported investment
- $3B
- Reported jobs
- 75
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2026-04-27Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Construction start reported
- 2026
- Expected completion
- 2028-12
Site
- City
- Sidney
- County
- Shelby
- State
- Ohio
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
- Community response
- Local opposition reported
Power and cooling
- Utility
- AES Ohio (Dayton Power and Light)
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Evaporative
- AI workload
- Likely AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- 30-year 100% real-property tax abatement (est. $180M–$350M foregone over term); $50M PILOT payment by AWS to City of Sidney ($25M) and Sidney City Schools ($25M) over 15 years (Sidney, OH / Shelby County)
Sources, method and limits
Show 7 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | AWS Project Galaxy — Sidney, OH | Under construction | 1500 MW |
| Server Country | AWS Project Galaxy Sidney Data Center | Proposed | Not reported |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Jul 7, 2026 · Record: aws-galaxy-sidney-oh
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAStop Ohio Data Centers (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CABaxtel (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAUtility Dive (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CACity of Sidney, OH (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0982
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 78103438380828
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “AWS Project Galaxy — Sidney, OH”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/aws-project-galaxy-sidney-oh-oh-dc_4708dfb34f1c, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.