Skip to content
Data center buildUnder construction3 datasets report

Google Cedar Rapids Data Center Campus

GoogleCedar Rapids, Linn County, IAUpdated

Google is building a 82 MW data center in Linn County, Iowa (under construction). 3 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.

Capacity
82 MW
Investment
$576M
Building area
1 sq ft
Site
1,391 acres
Expected completion
2026

Who's on this build

Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.

Schedule

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. this year

    Expected completionPlanned

  2. Today

    Under construction

    Last material change Sep 24, 2026.

  3. 16 mo ago

    Announced

  4. 2 yr ago

    Construction start

Reported updates without an event date

Record quality

Datasets
3, figures differ
Location
Site footprint confirmed
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Site and infrastructure

CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryPE Public Evidence ProjectKW Kapwork Grow tracker record

Status

Operator
GoogleOperator · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-iaOperator · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0181Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0183
Tenants
Google LLCTenants · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712
Stage
Under constructionStage · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-iaStage · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0181
Facility type
AI data centerFacility type · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712

Scale

Reported capacity
82 MWReported capacity · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0181
Reported investment
$576MReported investment · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712
Reported building area
1 sq ftReported building area · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712
Site area
1,391 acresSite area · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712
Reported jobs
31Reported jobs · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712

Reported dates

Announced
2025-05Announced · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-ia
Construction start reported
2024Construction start reported · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-ia
Expected completion
2026Expected completion · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0181

Site

City
Cedar RapidsCity · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-iaCity · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0181Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0183City · Public Evidence ProjectPublic Evidence Project: Filing from Iowa Department of RevenueAs of Aug 6, 2026 · Record: source-google-cedar-rapids-ia
County
LinnCounty · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-iaCounty · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0181Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0183County · Public Evidence ProjectPublic Evidence Project: Filing from Iowa Department of RevenueAs of Aug 6, 2026 · Record: source-google-cedar-rapids-ia
State
IowaState · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-iaState · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0181Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0183State · Public Evidence ProjectPublic Evidence Project: Filing from Iowa Department of RevenueAs of Aug 6, 2026 · Record: source-google-cedar-rapids-ia
Location precision
Site footprint confirmedLocation precision · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712

Power and cooling

Utility
Alliant EnergyUtility · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712
Power source
Grid powerPower source · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712
Cooling
EvaporativeCooling · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712
AI workload
Likely AI or machine-learning workloadAI workload · Compute AtlasCompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-ia

Permits and public records

Government records on file
1Government records on file · Public Evidence ProjectPublic Evidence Project: Filing from Iowa Department of RevenueAs of Aug 6, 2026 · Record: source-google-cedar-rapids-ia
Incentives reported
Cedar Rapids 20-year, 70% property-tax abatement (IEDA-approved) — ~$56M total over the term; contingent on a 31-job employment threshold (Cedar Rapids, IA); Iowa data-center sales/use-tax exemption (Iowa Code §423.3(92)–(95)) — 10-year electricity exemption under H.F. 976 for cities >30,000 pop.; site's $576M investment exceeds the $200M threshold (Iowa); Cedar Rapids development-agreement 75% franchise-fee rebate on electrical service, per data center, for 20 years (Cedar Rapids, IA)Incentives reported · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224809558720712

Sources, method and limits

Show 10 sourcesHide

What each source reports

What each source reports
DatasetReported nameReported statusReported MW
Compute AtlasGoogle Cedar Rapids Data Center CampusUnder constructionNot reported
Server CountryGoogle - Cedar Rapids CampusUnder construction82 MW
Server CountryGoogle - Palo Data Center Project (Near Duane Arnold)ProposedNot reported

Sources and evidence

  1. CA
    Compute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Jul 6, 2026 · Record: google-cedar-rapids-ia
  2. CA
  3. CA
  4. CA
  5. CA
  6. CA
  7. CA
  8. SC
    Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0181
  9. SC
    Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0183
  10. PE
    Public Evidence Project: Filing from Iowa Department of RevenueAs of: Aug 6, 2026 · Record: source-google-cedar-rapids-ia
  11. KW

Limitations and interpretation

  • This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
  • Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0) · Public Evidence Project, U.S. Data Center Public Records Dataset, https://publicevidence.org/data/national-data-center-public-records (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
  • An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
  • Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “Google Cedar Rapids Data Center Campus”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/google-cedar-rapids-data-center-campus-ia-dc_cc768de3c0c8, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More builds

Kapwork Grow

Every data center build in the directory, in one place.

Search by company, place or trade.

Browse all builds