Justified Data Campus
TeraWulf is building a 401 MW data center in Hancock County, Kentucky (under construction). 3 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 401 MW
- Investment
- $13.5B
- Site
- 750 acres
- Expected completion
- 2028
- IT load
- 401 MW
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other TeraWulf builds
Operator
TeraWulf
Utility
Big Rivers Electric Corporation
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 2 yr
Expected completionPlanned
- this year
Construction start
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 7 mo ago
Announced
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2028.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026-02.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryPE Public Evidence ProjectKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- TeraWulf
- Tenants
- Anthropic
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 401 MW
- Capacity as the sources range
- 401 to 482 MW
- Reported IT load
- 401 MW
- Reported investment
- $13.5B
- Site area
- 750 acres
- Reported jobs
- 100
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2026-02
- Construction start reported
- 2026
- Expected completion
- 2028
Site
- City
- Hawesville
- County
- Hancock
- State
- Kentucky
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Big Rivers Electric Corporation
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Closed loop
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Government records on file
- 1
Sources, method and limits
Show 15 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Justified Data Campus | Under construction | 401 MW |
| Server Country | Justified Data Campus | Proposed | 482 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 15, 2026 · Record: terawulf-hawesville-ky
- CATeraWulf Inc. (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAGlobeNewswire (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CATeraWulf Inc. (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAGlobeNewswire (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAKentucky Public Service Commission (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CASpectrum News 1 (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CABlockspace (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CASpectrum News 1 (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CAReport cited by Compute AtlasAs of: Jul 25, 2026
- CATeraWulf Inc. (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 15, 2026
- CAHoptown Chronicle / Kentucky Lantern (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 15, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0705
- PEPublic Evidence Project: Filing from Kentucky Public Service CommissionAs of: Aug 6, 2026 · Record: source-terawulf-hawesville-ky
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 78275542264584
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0) · Public Evidence Project, U.S. Data Center Public Records Dataset, https://publicevidence.org/data/national-data-center-public-records (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Justified Data Campus”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/justified-data-campus-ky-dc_4730f1e42b08, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.