Meta Rosemount Data Center
Meta is building a 75 MW data center in Dakota County, Minnesota (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 75 MW
- Investment
- $800M
- Building area
- 715,000 sq ft
- Site
- 280 acres
- Expected completion
- 2026
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Meta builds
Operator
Meta
Utility
Xcel Energy
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- this year
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- ~2 yr ago
Announced
- ~2 yr ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
- 2 yr ago
Construction start
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2026.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2024-03.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Meta
- Tenants
- Meta Platforms Inc.
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 75 MW
- Capacity as the sources range
- 75 to 150 MW
- Reported IT load
- 75 MW
- Reported investment
- $800M
- Reported building area
- 715,000 sq ft
- Site area
- 280 acres
- Reported jobs
- 100
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2024-03-13Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Construction start reported
- 2024
- Expected completion
- 2026
Site
- City
- Rosemount
- County
- Dakota
- State
- Minnesota
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Xcel Energy
- Power source
- Grid power
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- Property Tax Abatement
Sources, method and limits
Show 9 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Meta Rosemount Data Center | Under construction | 75 MW |
| Server Country | Meta Rosemount Data Center | Under construction | 150 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Aug 24, 2026 · Record: meta-rosemount-mn
- CAMeta (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CATwin Cities Business (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAMinnesota DEED (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAStar Tribune (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 17, 2026
- CAInForum (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Aug 24, 2026
- CAOffice of Governor Tim Walz (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Aug 24, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0254
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 33881507244566
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Meta Rosemount Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/meta-rosemount-data-center-mn-dc_1ed0a7342a16, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.