Microsoft Granger Data Center
Microsoft is building a 1000 MW data center in St. Joseph County, Indiana (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 1000 MW
- Site
- 939 acres
- Expected completion
- 2029
- Reported jobs
- 300
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Microsoft builds
Operator
Microsoft
Utility
Indiana Michigan Power (I&M / AEP)
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 3 yr
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 4 mo ago
Construction start
- 4 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
- ~2 yr ago
Announced
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2029.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026-05.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Microsoft
- Tenants
- Microsoft Corporation
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 1000 MW
- Capacity as the sources range
- 110 to 1000 MW
- Site area
- 939 acres
- Reported jobs
- 300
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2024-06
- Construction start reported
- 2026-05-30Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Expected completion
- 2029
Site
- City
- Granger
- County
- St. Joseph
- State
- Indiana
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Indiana Michigan Power (I&M / AEP)
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Closed loop
- AI workload
- Mixed use, AI among other workloads
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- Sales Tax Exemption; Infrastructure Support; Other
Sources, method and limits
Show 8 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Microsoft Granger Data Center | Under construction | 1000 MW |
| Server Country | Microsoft Mishawaka/Granger Data Center | Under construction | 110 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Jul 18, 2026 · Record: microsoft-granger-in
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAWNDU NBC South Bend (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAWSBT CBS South Bend (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAWSBT (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAWVPE (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAWVPE (NPR member station) (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 18, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0173
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 234566296267985
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Microsoft Granger Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/microsoft-granger-data-center-in-dc_d55638c3ecd1, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.