Microsoft La Porte Data Center
Microsoft is building a 538 MW data center in LaPorte County, Indiana (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 538 MW
- Investment
- $1B
- Building area
- 245,000 sq ft
- Site
- 489 acres
- Expected completion
- 2032
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Microsoft builds
Operator
Microsoft
Utility
NIPSCO
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 6 yr
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 6 mo ago
Construction start
- ~2 yr ago
Announced
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2032.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026-03.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Microsoft
- Tenants
- Microsoft Cloud, Azure
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 538 MW
- Reported investment
- $1B
- Reported building area
- 245,000 sq ft
- Site area
- 489 acres
- Reported jobs
- 200
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2024-06-04Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Construction start reported
- 2026-03
- Expected completion
- 2032
Site
- City
- La Porte
- County
- LaPorte
- State
- Indiana
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
Power and cooling
- Utility
- NIPSCO
- Power source
- Grid power
- AI workload
- Mixed use, AI among other workloads
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- 35-year data center sales tax credit (IEDC), extendable to 45 years per additional $1B invested within first 15 years (Indiana)
Sources, method and limits
Show 5 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Microsoft La Porte Data Center | Under construction | Not reported |
| Server Country | Microsoft La Porte Data Center | Under construction | 538 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Jul 23, 2026 · Record: microsoft-laporte-in
- CACity of La Porte, IN (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAOak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 23, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0172
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 228656650386611
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Microsoft La Porte Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/microsoft-la-porte-data-center-in-dc_cff6466bfcb3, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.