Skip to content
Data center buildExpanding

QTS Richmond Expansion

QTSRichmond, Henrico County, VAUpdated

QTS is expanding a 240 MW data center in Henrico County, Virginia (expanding). One source reports this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.

Capacity
240 MW
Investment
$1.7B ($1.68B)
Building area
1.5M sq ft (1,500,000 sq ft)
Expected completion
Jun 11, 2027 (2027-06-11)

Who's on this build

Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.

Schedule

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. in 16 mo

    Construction start

  2. in 9 mo

    Expected completionPlanned

  3. in 9 mo

    Expected completion reported

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

  4. Today

    Expanding

    Last material change Sep 24, 2026.

  5. 2 yr ago

    Announced

Reported updates without an event date

Record quality

Datasets
1
Location
Approximate: city centroid
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Site and infrastructure

SC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record

Status

Operator
QTSOperator · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224376967043584
Stage
ExpandingStage · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530
Facility type
ColocationFacility type · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224376967043584

Scale

Reported capacity
240 MWReported capacity · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530
Reported investment
$1.68BReported investment · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224376967043584
Reported building area
1,500,000 sq ftReported building area · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224376967043584

Reported dates

Announced
2024Announced · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530
Construction start reported
2028-01Construction start reported · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530
Expected completion
2027-06-11Expected completion · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530Planned date — not evidence that work occurred.

Site

City
RichmondCity · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530
County
Henrico CountyCounty · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530
State
VirginiaState · Server CountryServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530
Location precision
Approximate: city centroidLocation precision · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224376967043584

Permits and public records

Incentives reported
Sales Tax Exemption; OtherIncentives reported · Kapwork Grow tracker recordKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 224376967043584

Sources, method and limits

Show 1 sourceHide

What each source reports

What each source reports
DatasetReported nameReported statusReported MW
Server CountryQTS Richmond ExpansionExpanding240 MW

Sources and evidence

  1. SC
    Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0530
  2. KW

Limitations and interpretation

  • This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
  • Sources on this record: Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
  • An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
  • Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “QTS Richmond Expansion”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/qts-richmond-expansion-va-dc_cc11d56a9a00, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More builds

Kapwork Grow

Every data center build in the directory, in one place.

Search by company, place or trade.

Browse all builds