Rowan Project Temple
Rowan is building a 300 MW data center in Bell County, Texas (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 300 MW
- Investment
- $3B
- Building area
- 1 sq ft
- Site
- 700 acres
- Expected completion
- 2027
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Rowan builds
Operator
Rowan
Utility
Oncor
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- next year
Expected completionPlanned
- this year
Construction start
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 4 mo ago
Announced
- 4 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2027.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Reported for 2026.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, all agree
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Rowan
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 300 MW
- Reported investment
- $3B
- Reported building area
- 1 sq ft
- Site area
- 700 acres
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2026-05-27Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Construction start reported
- 2026
- Expected completion
- 2027
Site
- City
- Temple
- County
- Bell
- State
- Texas
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
Power and cooling
- Utility
- Oncor
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Closed loop
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- City of Temple property-tax abatement (Chapter 312) - reported 50% of city property tax for 10 years per construction phase (Killeen Daily Herald); project generates ~$7M/yr during abatement years and ~$12M/yr fully on the tax rolls (City of Temple) (City of Temple, TX)
Sources, method and limits
Show 8 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Rowan Project Temple | Under construction | 300 MW |
| Server Country | Rowan Temple Data Center Campus | Under construction | 300 MW |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 8, 2026 · Record: rowan-temple-tx
- CARowan Digital Infrastructure (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 7, 2026
- CACity of Temple (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 8, 2026
- CAKilleen Daily Herald (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 8, 2026
- CAKXXV (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 8, 2026
- CARowan Digital Infrastructure (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 8, 2026
- CAKWTX (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Sep 8, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 1020
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 219596427234173
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Rowan Project Temple”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/rowan-project-temple-tx-dc_c7b8c70a0b7d, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.