Project Dazzler
Google has approval for a data center in Scioto County, Ohio (approved). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Investment
- $1B
- Building area
- 500,000 sq ft
- Site
- 792 acres
- Expected completion
- 2029
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other Google builds
Operator
Google
Utility
AEP Ohio
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- in 3 yr
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Approved
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 8 mo ago
Announced
- 8 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2029.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Street address reported
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- Stage
- Approved
- Facility type
- Hyperscale
Scale
- Reported investment
- $1B
- Reported building area
- 500,000 sq ft
- Site area
- 792 acres
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2026-01-27Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Expected completion
- 2029
Site
- City
- Franklin Furnace
- County
- Scioto
- State
- Ohio
- Location precision
- Street address reported
- Community response
- Local opposition reported
Power and cooling
- Utility
- AEP Ohio
Sources, method and limits
Show 6 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Project Dazzler | Approved | Not reported |
| Server Country | Google Project Dazzler Scioto County Data Center | Proposed | Not reported |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Jul 26, 2026 · Record: google-project-dazzler-franklin-furnace-oh
- CAData Center Dynamics (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 17, 2026
- CAScioto Valley Guardian (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 17, 2026
- CAOak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) / HIFLD (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 23, 2026
- CAReport cited by Compute AtlasAs of: Jul 26, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0981
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 200536910423638
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Project Dazzler”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/project-dazzler-oh-dc_b663234f6656, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.