Stargate Lordstown Campus
OpenAI is building a 1500 MW data center in Trumbull County, Ohio (under construction). 2 sources report this facility in the Kapwork Grow tracker.
- Capacity
- 1500 MW
- Investment
- $3
- Building area
- 6 sq ft
- Expected completion
- 2026
Who's on this build
Named in the cited sources. No source reports who builds it.
- Other OpenAI builds
Operator
OpenAI
Utility
FirstEnergy (Ohio Edison)
Schedule
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.
- this year
Expected completionPlanned
- Today
Under construction
Last material change Sep 24, 2026.
- 12 mo ago
Announced
- 12 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
- 12 mo ago
Event date: · First observed: Not reported
- last year
Construction start
Reported updates without an event date
Reported for 2026.
Event date: Not reported · First observed: Not reported
Record quality
- Datasets
- 2, figures differ
- Location
- Site footprint confirmed
- Summary
- From published records
- Source as of
- Last material change
Site and infrastructure
CA Compute AtlasSC Server CountryKW Kapwork Grow tracker record
Status
- Operator
- OpenAI
- Stage
- Under construction
- Facility type
- AI data center
Scale
- Reported capacity
- 1500 MW
- Reported investment
- $3
- Reported building area
- 6 sq ft
Reported dates
- Announced
- 2025-09-23Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
- Construction start reported
- 2025
- Expected completion
- 2026
Site
- City
- Lordstown
- County
- Trumbull
- State
- Ohio
- Location precision
- Site footprint confirmed
Power and cooling
- Utility
- FirstEnergy (Ohio Edison)
- Power source
- Grid power
- Cooling
- Closed loop
- AI workload
- Confirmed AI or machine-learning workload
Permits and public records
- Incentives reported
- Ohio data-center sales-tax exemption (ORC §122.175, via JobsOhio / Ohio Tax Credit Authority) — statutory program; no OTCA approval confirmed for the Crescent Dune LLC / SoftBank / OpenAI site, and a moratorium on new data-center exemptions was in effect (2025–2026) (Ohio)
Sources, method and limits
Show 9 sourcesHide
What each source reports
| Dataset | Reported name | Reported status | Reported MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute Atlas | Stargate Lordstown Campus | Under construction | 1500 MW |
| Server Country | OpenAI Stargate Lordstown Campus | Under construction | Not reported |
Sources and evidence
- CACompute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)As of: Jul 6, 2026 · Record: stargate-lordstown-oh
- CAOpenAI (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 5, 2026
- CAWFMJ (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 5, 2026
- CABusiness Journal Daily (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CATribune Chronicle (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAData Center Frontier (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CAWFMJ (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- CASignal Ohio (cited by Compute Atlas)As of: Jul 6, 2026
- SCServer Country project record (CC BY 4.0)As of: Sep 24, 2026 · Record: 0992
- KWKapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)As of: Sep 23, 2026 · Record: 5816079583929
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-09-23. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
Cite or correct this record
Kapwork Grow, “Stargate Lordstown Campus”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/stargate-lordstown-campus-oh-dc_054a295b8ab9, materially updated Sep 24, 2026.
Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order. Capacity and dates are as reported by the cited sources. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
More builds
Kapwork Grow
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.